My Latest Obsession

I don’t know what it is. I’ve abandoned all games I’ve been playing. Assassins Creed: Brotherhood, Mass Effect 2 (going for my final achievements) and Skyrim are sitting on the shelf, collecting dust. Why you ask. Why would I put Skyrim on the shelf. A very addicting game with so much depth to it. Why would I do that? I have rediscovered my love for the Halo series. It has become my obsession.

I had never hated the Halo games. I remember back when I was in seventh grade, my friend (who had wealthy parents) bought him the original Xbox and for those who don’t know, the Xbox cost $300 back in 2001. We would stay up all night playing multiplayer, inviting friends over and having LAN parties. I never got an Xbox until 2004 which I did end up playing through Halo and Halo 2. It was then that I began getting into different games. I eventually got a Xbox360 in December 2007 and played Halo 3 and being disappointed with it. After that, I stopped playing Halo. I got into Call of Duty, Guitar Hero, etc. It wasn’t until the end of last year that I started playing Halo again. Mainly because of Halo Anniversary. I played through and it I loved it. I immediately went out and picked up Halo 2, Halo 3, Halo 3 ODST, Halo Wars and Halo Reach. I love each one of those games.

I think part of the reason why I like Halo so much now is that I like engaging stories. When I was younger, all I wanted to do was shoot things up in video games and now that I’m almost half a decade old, I look more for engaging characters and interesting stories and Halo has both of those.

Halo also has quite a few different adaptations. There are books, graphic novels and an animated movie. I can say the books are excellent. I just finished “The Fall of Reach” by Eric Nylund was excellent and its Master Chiefs origin story which is very interesting. Another contributing factor to my recent Halo obsession would be my love for science fiction. I like the Star Wars games and movies, my favorite television shows are Firefly and Battlestar Galactica. I think that is a huge contributing factor.

I was a little worried when bungie had announced that they weren’t making anymore Halo games and that 343 Industries was taking over the next part of the story. Then I played Halo Anniversary and saw how they stayed true the original game and only tweaking graphics and the controls. After that, I know 343 Industries loved the original games and wouldn’t do anything to ruin it. I look forward to Halo 4 (and hopefully an HD remake of Halo 2?). It’s on my list of most anticipated games of 2012 list (which I am working on getting out to you guys) and I will be at Gamespot at midnight to buy it.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, here is the trailer for Halo 4. GET PUMPED!

Leave a Reply

